top of page

This is not a goodbye Morocco, this is a see you later!

“Morocco?” Followed by a blank and startled face expression. That is exactly what I got from all of my friends once I told them that I would be working in this country full of contradictions. Let’s not forget about the stereotype that most people have of African/Arab countries not being very safe for female Westerners. I always believed everything has its two sides of the coin and I was right...

After almost 1 year in Morocco, this bittersweet little adventure of mine ended. I call it bittersweet because it wasn't always pretty or comfortable. I experienced what a heart break is, I cried my tears out until there were no more tears left, I felt lost and misunderstood, observed on a daily basis by millions of eyes (by men specially, as if they were a tiger locked in a cage, hungry, and I was the piece of meat they have been craving for so long). Despite all these "not-so-good memories" this journey left marks on my memory, on my consciousness, and on my heart. I took many things with me from this journey, but especially the people I met.

I tend to believe that big, modern and developed cities such as London have so much to offer that you forget what human contact it (this just made me remember how once walking around London I saw this sign outside a coffee shop saying "we do not have wifi, talk to each other!"). You get so immersed in your own personal life, in your own personal interests, that you forget what spending quality time with people is. You become such a selfish, greedy and unappreciated person it’s disgusting! (I know not everyone will agree with this).

In cities such as Casablanca completely the opposite happens. Because the city itself does not have that much to offer (apart from millions of restaurants and bars of course) the way you spend your free time is with people! We would always organise things together, which was a nice change from London were it was impossible to agree on a day to meet with someone who even lives across the road from you!

This Moroccan experience made me grow and mature as a person. It made me realise that I am much more happier with less things. That money is not the true happiness (although I do agree it does help) and that what really makes an experience more enriching is its people. I have made life-lasting friendships from this chapter in my life which a worth more than earning 30k a year, buying the latest iPhone or being in trend with the latest fashion...I discovered a Morocco which many people do not know about which made me break all stereotypes about this country - the most hospitable and curious people, breathtaking landscapes, delicious food, bright and vibrant colours…A country full of contradictions but a country that will always have a piece of my heart...

The video is a summary and a thank you to all the happiness this place brought me and to all of those people who were part of my happiness.

Shukran Morocco <3 This is not a goodbye, this is just a see you soon!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page