top of page

Getting lost in the moment….


The surf school has been really quiet since Friday. The only five guests we had left on that day. With Eid (end of Ramadan celebration) approaching, it did make things even quieter. It does have its benefits of not having anyone in the school. On one of those lonely nights, myself and Daniela (the other girl who works with me and with whom I am spending pretty much 24/7 since I arrived here) decided to have a chilled out night and take advantage of the peacefulness of the school. We needed to just relax and “zone out” so we sat on the rooftop terrace and sipped on some Gin accompanied by an orange flavoured shisha and some music. In a place like this, where the sky is full of stars and all you hear is the sound of the waves, it is really easy to just get lost in the moment, so that is what we did…

There are of course those moments of boredom. Specially having no Internet connection in the office since Sunday and being forced to stay there to “work” (I write it like that because sometimes this does feel more of a holiday). Moments like this I realise how addicted we are to technology. How did people live before without it? Anyway, in one of those moments of boredom we came up with a sporadic plan (spontaneity – something I love). We put our bikinis on, got out our bikes and cycled to a beach called Imourane in Tamraght. The beach was as if it was taken out from one of those surfer movies (funny enough I just watched one of those movies tonight), full of local surfer boys hanging out on the beach and waiting for that “perfect” wave. It was my favourite time of the day too; sunset. We got into the water (after a sweaty bike ride it was what I needed!) with our GoPro camera and started capturing moments. It’s all about the moment. In the sea the moment for me is freedom and this is when I understand that freedom is just another word for nothing to lose. This is what I seek…

There is a big rock that separates two beaches. My friend told me it is called the Devil’s rock because people have seen evil spirits there before (it’s just probably another myth). This beach also has one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen so far (nearly as good as Nusa Dua, Bali sunsets!). This is definitely a must if you ever come here. Just sit down, whether it is alone, with your lover or with your dog, and watch the whole damn sunset!

We stopped by a local restaurant before cycling back to Taghazout. A large vegetarian pizza was on the menu accompanied by a Pomms (one of the local drinks here – the most artificially flavoured drink I have ever drank but kind of addictive after a while). By the time we finished eating it got dark. The road back to Taghazout is not one of the safest I would say. Narrow, poorly paved, steep with no lighting whatsoever. This is not mentioning the crazy Moroccan driving. Cycling back on this road was one of the scariest but adventurous moments I have had so far. I was scared as hell but got this rush of adrenaline and happiness inside me. I also felt that moment of freedom again, where I was just cycling away on this empty, dark, deserted road with no destination or end to it, just how I feel at the moment. I am on this journey, with no destination or no plans but that doesn’t matter. What really matters is the journey itself and everything that comes with it. One of the best moments of this bike ride was when we were approaching Taghazout, and I turned to look around and all I saw was an immense sky full of stars with the Atlantic Ocean beneath it. Yet again I got lost in the moment…


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page